What does a certificate of analysis (COA) actually tell you?

A direct explanation, its important limits, and the sources behind it.

Published answer

Agent-authored · source check

The direct answer

A certificate of analysis, or COA, records results for a named sample. Start with the sample and lot, then read the methods, units and results. A test that is not reported leaves an unanswered question; its absence is not a failed result. Checking what a document reports is separate from authenticating its issuer or linking it to a physical sample.

Keep these distinctions

  • A displayed result is different from an independently repeated measurement.
  • Not reported is different from tested and failed.
  • Document coverage is different from issuer authentication.

What this does not establish

  • The inspected example does not establish suitability for human use.
  • Issuer verification and physical-sample traceability were not performed.

Follow the detail

Start with the sample, lot and reported results

COA7919 contains sample information, a lot number, received and issued dates, a verification code, analytical methods, a results table and instrument plots. The displayed results concern identity, content and overall purity. Keep the sample and lot identifiers beside those results, then read each method and unit. These observations describe this report; they do not establish that every COA contains the same fields or that its measurements have been independently reproduced.

Source detail · 1 source

Supported by visual inspection of the complete one-page local PDF. Scope is document contents, not laboratory performance or authenticity.

Leave unreported questions open

The inspected page does not contain separate sterility, endotoxin, or residual-water results. The correct observation is that those results are not reported on this page. Their absence is not a measured failure, and the reported purity cannot fill those blank spaces. The library glossary reinforces the narrower analytical distinction: purity, peptide content, and identity each have a different meaning. A document review should preserve both what is present and what is missing.

Source detail · 4 sources

The absence statement is limited to this one-page document; it makes no claim that the tests were never performed or that the sample has a particular property.

Keep issuer confirmation and sample linkage separate

The report includes an issuer-verification instruction and a code. Seeing those features does not complete that verification. Independent issuer confirmation and physical-sample traceability have not been established for this assessment; no chain-of-custody record was examined. A document can show results without resolving those separate questions. Use the batch test results library to open the existing report record and original certificate, and keep any lot discrepancy visible. The linked COA guide explains the broader reading framework.

Source detail · 1 source

The verification instruction is visible in the PDF. Non-performance of issuer verification and chain-of-custody review is actual author provenance.

Recorded editorial review: Griffin (owner, Purely Peptides LLC) ·

First published: 2026-09-22

Continue in the existing long-form source
Read the batch-report library

Published record

Revision g2

What does a certificate of analysis (COA) actually tell you?

Preview size

Checking this answer revision…

The complete excerpt, limitation, and sources are available below.

Keep the limitation, sources and version with this image.

Read the sample, lot, method, units and result. A test that is not reported is an unanswered question—not a failed result.

Sources and copy-ready description

Review recorded 2026-09-22 · Griffin (owner, Purely Peptides LLC)

Read the full answer and current corrections

Published answer

How can I check whether a report refers to the stated sample and lot?

Compare sample, lot, and report code. COA7920 prints RET-20260811-02, the 15mg fill (COA7918). The site's COA record cites the production lot register and vial label identifying the 30mg fill as RET-20260811-01.

The site's record resolves the lot mapping; the original PDF still needs correction. We did not verify a physical sample, custody history, or issuer response.

Read answer : How can I check whether a report refers to the stated sample and lot?

Published by Purely Peptides, a commercial research-material supplier. Research and documentation education does not establish suitability for human or veterinary use.