Discrepancy register
Source Disagreements and Name Mix-ups
Every place the Research Library records that sources disagree about a peptide's identity, and every name or form it records as easily confused, quoted from the compound record.
36 disagreements across 28 records, 13 of them unresolved. 68 recorded mix-ups across 58 records.
Each entry quotes the record it comes from. The build checks that every quotation still appears, word for word, in that record, so an entry cannot outlive the text it indexes. Entries cover identity and chemistry: names, sequences, structures, formulas and registry numbers. Read the Library methodology.
Identity
Where sources disagree
Unresolved in this Library (13)
The record sets out what each source prints and does not choose between them.
Sequence
Order of Val and Ser at peptide positions 9 and 10
The 1993 native-fragment abstract (PMID 8358331) gives LRIVQCRVSEGSCGF, transposing Val and Ser at canonical mature GH1 positions 184-185 relative to LRIVQCRSVEGSCGF…
AOD-9604, sequence notes One source, two statements
Position of the added tyrosine within one FDA briefing
The FDA December 2024 briefing places the added Tyr at the N-terminus in its chemistry description and Figure 4, but its narrative on printed page 24 says C-terminus.
AOD-9604, sequence notes Formula or mass
Average mass from two calculations
The dossier preserves a numerical discrepancy with the GSRS value of 639.79 whose atomic-weight convention was not established.
Elamipretide, analytical notes Sequence
Alpha subunit residue 4: threonine or valine
The two crystal-structure depositions differ at alpha position 4: PDB entry 1HRP records threonine and PDB entry 1HCN records valine.
hCG (Human chorionic gonadotropin), sequence notes Residue count
Beta subunit length: 145 or 147 residues
…the cDNA encodes a 145-amino-acid chain with a 20-amino-acid presequence (Fiddes and Goodman, 1980), while an earlier protein-sequencing report described 147 residues (Carlsen et al., 1973).
hCG (Human chorionic gonadotropin), sequence notes Formula or mass
Average mass: PDB entry vs GSRS
Two published average-mass values differ and remain unreconciled: 3769.136 in the PDB entity metadata for entry 2L63, and 3760.0 as the GSRS estimated calculated weight.
Human GLP-2(1-33), analytical notes Sequence
Residue 4: glutamine or glutamate
The Gln4 versus glutamyl4 source disagreement leaves the complete sequence, molecular formula and average molecular mass unresolved; those fields are withheld.
Oxytocin, structural notes Stereochemistry
Configuration of the residue at position 13
The drawing of the position-13 residue in CN117024528B shows the opposite configuration to the one WHO specifies; whether that is a different stereoisomer or a drawing error is not established here.
Retatrutide, sequence notes Formula or mass
Molecular formula and mass: WHO INN list vs FDA GSRS
No molecular formula or molecular mass is recorded as a field, because two public records print different values. WHO Proposed INN List 128 prints C221H342N46O68 for the free peptide…
Retatrutide, analytical notes Registry record
PubChem records filed under the name retatrutide
PubChem links several compound records to substance records carrying this name, those records differ from one another in stereochemical detail and in one case in composition, and none has been matched to an independently established structure.
Retatrutide, structural notes Registry number
Registry numbers given for N-acetyl Selank amidate
Registry numbers reported for that modified variant are inconsistent across suppliers and no CAS for it is published here.
Selank, nomenclature notes Formula or mass
Molecular formula and weight across registry records
The retrieved registry representations disagree on molecular formula and molecular weight. Their reported properties are retained as conflicting observations; no settled formula or average molecular weight is assigned here.
TB-500, analytical notes Sequence
Complete sequence, formula and mass across sources
The complete sequence, molecular formula and average molecular mass remain conflicted and are withheld.
Thymosin alpha-1, structural notes
This Library follows one source (23)
The record states which value it uses and notes the other.
Registry record
Human amylin's C-terminus in the Guide to Pharmacology
The IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology (ligand 687, release 2026.3.1) names an amidated C-terminal proline in its modification text while its own sequence ends in amidated tyrosine; this record keeps the Tyr37 amide.
Amylin (human IAPP), sequence notes Structure description
Glu14 and Arg17: noncovalent contact or an extra ring
The Glu14–Arg17 interaction reported for this peptide is a noncovalent ionic contact, not a lactam bridge. Descriptions that render it as an additional covalent ring describe a different molecule.
Cagrilintide, structural notes Formula or mass
Oxygen count in the molecular formula: O58 or O59
An FDA substance record displays C194H312N54O58S2 against an approximately 4409 Da mass. That oxygen count is inconsistent with both the stated mass and the covalent structure; reconstruction gives O59, matching PubChem.
Cagrilintide, nomenclature notes Structure description
Where cagrilintide's lipid is attached
A 2026 review by Bousch et al. (PMID 41898461) instead describes the N-terminal lysine as lipidated on its side chain; this record keeps the alpha-amino attachment stated above.
Cagrilintide, sequence notes Registry record
Cosyntropin's stereochemistry in PubChem
PubChem CID 16129617, the entry titled Cosyntropin, and CID 16129674 encode Lys15, Lys16, Arg17 and Arg18 as D-residues and leave the configuration of Ser1 undefined; this record therefore cites CID 16133751, which encodes the all-L chain.
Cosyntropin (ACTH 1-24), nomenclature notes Registry number
Two CAS numbers attached to epitalon
A second registry number, 64082-79-7, also appears in the PubChem record; 307297-39-8 is carried here as primary.
Epitalon, nomenclature notes Registry record
Structure and mass recorded for the copper complex
Public databases do not agree on the complex: searching the name GHK-Cu in PubChem returns several distinct structures at 400.90, 401.91, 402.92, 403.92, 742.3 and 744.3, differing in how many protons the ligand has lost and in peptide-to-copper stoichiometry.
GHK-Cu, nomenclature notes Registry number
GIP(1-42)'s CAS number resolves in GSRS but not in PubChem
GSRS UNII 1O4H75S7H2 assigns primary CAS 100040-31-1 to the human 42-residue free peptide, while PubChem CID 131954558 matches its connectivity and formula but leaves all 46 atom stereocentres undefined.
GIP(1-42), nomenclature notes Registry number
GLP-1(7-37)'s GSRS record cross-references an acetate CID, not the free peptide
GSRS UNII PI470C66NT and primary CAS 106612-94-6 describe the free 31-residue peptide represented by PubChem CID 16133830, although the GSRS CID cross-reference points to acetate CID 91820613.
GLP-1(7-37), nomenclature notes Registry record
A registry synonym missing one lysine
A registry synonym for this substance omits a lysine while a correctly specified 28-residue synonym sits alongside it — do not regard every registry synonym as equally authoritative.
Human Octanoyl-Ghrelin, sequence notes Notation
Mazdutide's position 9 in copies of the WHO lists
Text extracted from WHO Proposed INN List 126 and Recommended List 88 gives Asp at position 9 in English, French and Spanish, but one indexed copy of List 88 gives Lys in French and Spanish; this record keeps Asp9, which its printed sequence also shows.
Mazdutide, nomenclature notes Formula or mass
One serine more or fewer between two registry structures
The formula recorded here is the WHO-defined structure. PubChem's name-linked record reports C207H317N45O65, which differs by exactly one serine residue — C3H5NO2, 87.0320 Da.
Mazdutide, nomenclature notes Sequence
Residue 33 of oxyntomodulin: arginine or lysine
PubChem CID 121494088 encodes the human 37-residue free peptide ending KRNRNNIA, whereas CID 16144019 ends KRNKNNIA and contains Lys33 in place of Arg33.
Oxyntomodulin, nomenclature notes Origin
Where P021 came from: CNTF-derived or isolated from Cerebrolysin
It is not described there as a chemically identified fragment isolated from Cerebrolysin, and that provenance claim should not be repeated.
P021 (P21), nomenclature notes Chemical behaviour
How the aggregation of pramlintide is described
Pramlintide is widely described as non-aggregating. Exact-compound work reports it assembling into multimers and forming amyloid fibrils in vitro in a pH-dependent process…
Pramlintide, analytical notes Sequence
Thr and Lys order in candidate sequences from one paper
Vanhee et al. (PMID 31667971) reports TKPRPGP and KTPRPGP as de novo candidates at 1.5 ppm. Arg-C digestion did not separate them; subsequent rLys-C digestion yielded the fragment pair consistent with TKPRPGP.
Selank, analytical notes Notation
How semaglutide's position-8 residue is written
WHO Proposed INN List 101 and Recommended List 63 print position 8 in English as 2-amino-2-propanoic acid, without the methyl that their French and Spanish names include; this record keeps Aib, 2-aminoisobutyric acid.
Semaglutide, nomenclature notes The IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology (ligand 9724, release 2026.3.1) prints Ala at position 8 in its sequence fields while its structure encodes Aib; FDA GSRS also records Aib there.
Semaglutide, sequence notes Description
Semax described as ACTH(4-7)-Pro-Gly-Pro or as an ACTH(4-10) analogue
Much of the published literature instead describes Semax as an ACTH(4-10) analogue. Both descriptions refer to the same molecule…
Semax, nomenclature notes Residue count
Sermorelin's length in the Guide to Pharmacology
The IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology (ligand 6998, release 2026.3.1) prints a thirty-residue sermorelin sequence ending Gln30; this record keeps the twenty-nine-residue fragment ending in Arg29 amide, matching PubChem CID 16132413.
Sermorelin, sequence notes Residue count
Length of SHLP6
SHLP6 is twenty residues; descriptions that give all SHLPs a common length range are wrong.
SHLP6, nomenclature notes Registry record
SHU9119's PubChem entry encodes a different structure
PubChem CID 6440621, the entry titled Shu 9119 and the one its CAS number resolves to, encodes a different ring system; this record cites CID 9898183, which encodes the Asp2-Lys7 lactam with the same formula.
SHU9119, nomenclature notes Origin
Survodutide: glucagon-based or an oxyntomodulin analogue
Zimmermann et al. (PMID 36356832) describe survodutide as made by introducing modifications into the human glucagon sequence, whereas a review by Cabri et al. (PMID 34195230) calls it an oxyntomodulin analogue; this record follows the design paper.
Survodutide, structural notes Registry number
Two CAS numbers attached to tesamorelin
A second registry number, 804475-66-9, also appears in the PubChem record; 218949-48-5 is carried here as primary.
Tesamorelin, nomenclature notes
Names and forms
Often mixed up
Names, salts, notations and related forms that the records distinguish, grouped by compound.
Ac-SDKP (Goralatide)
Name or substance
Ac-SDKP vs thymosin beta-4 and TB-500
Ac-SDKP is not thymosin beta-4 and not a generic TB-500 fragment. It is one specifically processed N-terminal tetrapeptide and is not a stand-in for the parent's other sequence regions.
Ac-SDKP (Goralatide), nomenclature notes
alpha-MSH
Name or substance
alpha-MSH vs afamelanotide
It is not afamelanotide: the parent retains Met4 and L-Phe7, and the analog's norleucine and D-phenylalanine substitutions must not migrate into the parent's identity fields.
alpha-MSH, nomenclature notes Name or substance
alpha-MSH vs ACTH(1-13)
Nor is it simply 'ACTH(1-13)' — the N-acetyl and C-amide processing distinguish it from an uncapped fragment.
alpha-MSH, nomenclature notes
Amylin (human IAPP)
Name or substance
Amylin, IAPP and related precursor and species names
They are NOT synonyms for the IAPP gene, for proIAPP, for a processing intermediate, for the reduced peptide, or for rodent amylin — rat amylin differs in sequence and is a common substitute in structural work.
Amylin (human IAPP), nomenclature notes Name or substance
Amlintide vs pramlintide
The FDA substance record uses 'amlintide' as a preferred name for this peptide; amlintide is NOT pramlintide, which carries three proline substitutions and is a separate entry in this library.
Amylin (human IAPP), nomenclature notes Name or substance
Receptor genes CALCR and CALCRL
CALCRL is a different gene and must not be substituted for CALCR, and there is no standalone IAPP receptor gene to name.
Amylin (human IAPP), structural notes
Anamorelin
Salt or form
Anamorelin free base vs hydrochloride
The CAS recorded here is the parent free base. The hydrochloride requires separate salt accounting; chloride is not part of this formula.
Anamorelin, nomenclature notes
AOD-9604
Name or substance
AOD-9604 is not the same as "hGH fragment 176-191"
…the unqualified name “hGH fragment 176-191” can instead denote the distinct native phenylalanine-starting peptide and is not used here as an interchangeable identity…
AOD-9604, nomenclature notes
ARA-290
Notation
Pyroglutamate at position 1, not glutamine
No oneLetter string is recorded: position 1 is pyroglutamate, and writing it as Q would denote glutamine, a different residue worth 17.03 Da more.
ARA-290, sequence notes
CJC-1295
Registry identifier
CJC-1295 with and without the drug affinity complex
The name CJC-1295 is used in the literature and in commerce for two distinct species.
CJC-1295, nomenclature notes PubChem CID 91971820, CAS 446262-90-4 and GSRS UNII 62RC32V9N7 identify the DAC form and are excluded from this non-DAC record. No CAS or UNII is published for the non-DAC species because none could be verified against a primary registry.
CJC-1295, nomenclature notes
Cosyntropin (ACTH 1-24)
Name or substance
Cosyntropin, ACTH(1-24), vs other ACTH forms
Cosyntropin is ACTH(1-24). It is not full-length ACTH(1-39), not ACTH(4-10), and not alpha-MSH.
Cosyntropin (ACTH 1-24), nomenclature notes
Desmopressin
Name or substance
dAVP vs dDAVP
The abbreviation dAVP is also used for its L-Arg8 counterpart and is not retained as an alias.
Desmopressin, nomenclature notes
Elamipretide
Salt or form
Elamipretide vs its trihydrochloride salt
The parent registry identifiers do not identify the trihydrochloride salt.
Elamipretide, nomenclature notes Name or substance
SS-31 vs SS-02
Equal formula and mass do not distinguish SS-31 from the differently ordered SS-02 peptide.
Elamipretide, analytical notes
Examorelin (Hexarelin)
One substance, two names
Examorelin and hexarelin: one substance, two names
Examorelin and hexarelin are one substance under two names, not two entries.
Examorelin (Hexarelin), nomenclature notes Name or substance
Examorelin vs "methylated GHRP-6"
Its relationship to GHRP-6 is a single methyl group — a net CH2, 14.0157 Da — but 'methylated GHRP-6' is insufficient identity information unless the methyl position is retained.
Examorelin (Hexarelin), nomenclature notes
Galanin (human 1-30)
Name or substance
Human galanin vs 29-residue galanins of other species
Human galanin is thirty residues with a free acid terminus and is NOT interchangeable with the 29-residue amidated galanins from other species that appear throughout this literature as comparators…
Galanin (human 1-30), nomenclature notes Name or substance
Galanin vs galanin-like peptide
Galanin-like peptide is a different molecule, not an alias.
Galanin (human 1-30), nomenclature notes Name or substance
Spexin is not a fragment of galanin
And spexin is not a proteolytic fragment of galanin — the two are separate gene products that happen to share receptors.
Galanin (human 1-30), nomenclature notes
GHK (Prezatide)
Registry identifier
GHK and GHK-Cu: two substances, two CAS numbers
The free tripeptide and the copper complex are distinct molecular records with different formulas, masses, and registry numbers: the free peptide is CAS 49557-75-7 (INN prezatide), and the copper complex is CAS 89030-95-5 (prezatide copper).
GHK-Cu, nomenclature notes …certificates of analysis in this market have carried the free-tripeptide number on copper-complex product, which describes the wrong substance.
GHK (Prezatide), nomenclature notes Name or substance
GHK, GHK-Cu and Pal-GHK
GHK, GHK-Cu and Pal-GHK are three different substances: an uncomplexed peptide, a copper coordination species, and a covalently lipidated derivative.
GHK (Prezatide), nomenclature notes Pal-GHK is also not GHK-Cu with a delivery modification bolted on: acylating the N-terminal amine alters a group that participates in GHK's copper coordination…
Pal-GHK (Palmitoyl Tripeptide-1), nomenclature notes
GHRP-6
Registry identifier
GHRP-6 vs GHRP-2 on a PubChem record with the same formula
A separate PubChem record for the same formula and mass carries a synonym belonging to GHRP-2, a different peptide; identity should be established against CAS 87616-84-0 rather than by name matching alone.
GHRP-6, nomenclature notes GHRP-2 is not GHRP-6; they are different hexapeptides.
Pralmorelin (GHRP-2), nomenclature notes
GIP(1-42)
One substance, two names
"Gastric inhibitory polypeptide" is GIP
…'Gastric inhibitory polypeptide' is the historical name for this same hormone, not a different peptide.
GIP(1-42), nomenclature notes Name or substance
Human GIP(1-42) vs porcine GIP and shorter GIP forms
…human GIP differs from porcine at residues 18 and 34. Full-length GIP must not be merged with GIP(3-42), GIP(1-30)amide, or proGIP — DPP-IV cleavage changes the molecule and its pharmacology.
GIP(1-42), nomenclature notes
GLP-1(7-36) amide
Name or substance
GLP-1(7-36) amide vs GLP-1(7-37)
…'GLP-1(7-36)' without an amidation designation is not sufficiently specified. This entry is the AMIDATED form; GLP-1(7-37) is a separate molecule with an additional terminal glycine and a free carboxyl…
GLP-1(7-36) amide, nomenclature notes GLP-1(1-37) is the N-terminally extended proform and is not this hormone…
GLP-1(7-36) amide, nomenclature notes Thirty-one residues ending in glycine with a FREE C-terminal carboxyl. Distinct from both the amidated 30-residue form and from GLP-1(1-37).
GLP-1(7-37), sequence notes Name or substance
"Insulinotropin" names GLP-1(7-37), not the 7-36 amide
The name Insulinotropin belongs to GLP-1(7-37) and is recorded on that entry; it is not an alias of this amidated form.
GLP-1(7-36) amide, nomenclature notes Mojsov et al. (PMID 3543057) named this glycine-extended form Insulinotropin; the name does not denote the amidated GLP-1(7-36) form.
GLP-1(7-37), nomenclature notes
Glucagon
Name or substance
Glucagon vs proglucagon, GLP-1 and oxyntomodulin
Glucagon, GLP-1 and oxyntomodulin are related through processing of a shared precursor but are not aliases.
Glucagon, nomenclature notes Oxyntomodulin is ONE peptide, not a mixture of GLP-1 and glucagon. It is also not glicentin, which is a larger processing product that contains the oxyntomodulin region…
Oxyntomodulin, nomenclature notes
Gonadorelin (GnRH-I)
Name or substance
GnRH-I vs GnRH-II and synthetic analogs
GnRH-I is not GnRH-II and not any of the long-acting synthetic GnRH analogs; a generic 'GnRH' label does not identify this decapeptide.
Gonadorelin (GnRH-I), nomenclature notes Name or substance
GnRH is not cleaved from kisspeptin
Kisspeptin does not become GnRH by cleavage — they are different sequences acting at different receptors, connected by a neuronal circuit.
Gonadorelin (GnRH-I), nomenclature notes
hCG (Human chorionic gonadotropin)
Name or substance
What the name "hCG" covers
Names of the individual subunits, and of the genes that encode them, are not names of the intact hormone and are not aliases of this record.
hCG (Human chorionic gonadotropin), nomenclature notes
HNG ([Gly14]-Humanin)
Name or substance
Humanin vs HNG, HNGF6A and the MTRNR2L gene names
N-formyl humanin is a distinct chemical form. MTRNR2L gene names denote nuclear loci and are not peptide aliases.
Humanin (HN), nomenclature notes …'Humanin-G' denotes substitution at position 14, not a glycine extension.
HNG ([Gly14]-Humanin), nomenclature notes HNGF6A is not an alias of humanin or HNG. F6A-humanin alone is a third molecule again — it retains Ser14.
HNGF6A, nomenclature notes
Human GLP-2(1-33)
Name or substance
What the name "GLP-2" covers
…on its own specifies neither species nor whether a peptide is intact or shortened, so this record keeps the human (1-33) form explicit.
Human GLP-2(1-33), nomenclature notes
Human Octanoyl-Ghrelin
Name or substance
What the unqualified name "ghrelin" can mean
…'Ghrelin' alone is not a resolved chemical identity. Species, chain length, acylated versus desacyl, and the acyl chain itself must all be specified.
Human Octanoyl-Ghrelin, nomenclature notes Desacyl-ghrelin is a different substance, not the same one differently formulated.
Human Octanoyl-Ghrelin, nomenclature notes
Humanin (HN)
Name or substance
Humanin: standard-code form vs mitochondrial-code prediction
This record specifies the 24-residue standard-code form; a mitochondrial-code prediction is a distinct sequence.
Humanin (HN), nomenclature notes
Kisspeptin-14
Name or substance
Kisspeptin-14 vs the 13- and 10-residue kisspeptins
Removing its initial aspartate gives the 13-residue sequence; removing DLPN gives the 10-residue sequence. These are different molecular forms even where receptor responses are similar.
Kisspeptin-14, nomenclature notes
KPV
Salt or form
Free KPV vs N-acetylated, C-amidated KPV
Because commercially supplied material may be acetylated at the N-terminus and amidated at the C-terminus, identity methods must establish which form is present.
KPV, analytical notes
KTTKS (Pentapeptide-4)
Name or substance
Matrixyl (palmitoyl-KTTKS) vs unmodified KTTKS
The palmitoyl modification dominates the lipophilicity of the molecule and is part of its declared identity; an unmodified KTTKS preparation is a different substance with a different mass.
Matrixyl, analytical notes KTTKS is not Matrixyl. Matrixyl is the palmitoylated derivative, Pal-KTTKS, and N-palmitoylation adds C16H30O — 238.2297 Da — changing both the covalent structure and the physicochemical behaviour. 'Pentapeptide-4' alone does not distinguish them…
KTTKS (Pentapeptide-4), nomenclature notes
Macimorelin
Salt or form
Acetate salt vs a covalent N-acetyl group
Acetate in a salt preparation must not become a covalent N-acetyl modification in the structural record.
Macimorelin, nomenclature notes Acetate salt terminology does not establish covalent N-acetylation.
N-Acetyl Semax Amidate, nomenclature notes Acetate salt terminology does not establish covalent N-acetylation.
N-Acetyl Selank Amidate, nomenclature notes
Matrixyl
Name or substance
Palmitoyl pentapeptide-3 and palmitoyl pentapeptide-4
…the material has also been designated palmitoyl pentapeptide-3 under earlier INCI naming. Identity should be established against CAS 214047-00-4.
Matrixyl, nomenclature notes
Mazdutide
Name or substance
Survodutide vs mazdutide
Survodutide and mazdutide are both GLP-1/glucagon dual agonists and are not interchangeable: they differ in main-chain sequence, nonstandard residue, conjugation position, linker and lipid.
Survodutide, nomenclature notes Survodutide and mazdutide share a receptor profile and are not chemically interchangeable.
Mazdutide, structural notes Notation
Ac4c vs Aib at position 2
Position 2 is Ac4c, 1-aminocyclobutane-1-carboxylic acid. It is NOT Aib. The two differ by one carbon, 12.0000 Da exactly, and substituting one for the other imports the chemistry of a different peptide.
Survodutide, sequence notes Position 2 is Aib, 2-aminoisobutyric acid — not Ac4c, which is what survodutide carries.
Mazdutide, sequence notes Name or substance
Glucagon-derived vs oxyntomodulin-derived
Zimmermann et al. (PMID 36356832) describe survodutide as made by introducing modifications into the human glucagon sequence, whereas a review by Cabri et al. (PMID 34195230) calls it an oxyntomodulin analogue; this record follows the design paper.
Survodutide, structural notes Being oxyntomodulin-derived is not permission to substitute oxyntomodulin's sequence or another dual agonist's data.
Mazdutide, structural notes …'oxyntomodulin-like' is a description of GLP-1R/GCGR pharmacology and does not establish oxyntomodulin-derived chemistry; a compound can have that pharmacology from a different scaffold entirely.
Oxyntomodulin, nomenclature notes
Melanotan I (Afamelanotide)
Name or substance
Melanotan I vs Melanotan II
The unqualified word melanotan is not a usable identity field. Melanotan II is this cyclic lactam analog; Melanotan I is afamelanotide, a linear thirteen-residue peptide with a different formula and mass.
Melanotan II, nomenclature notes Most importantly, Melanotan I is NOT Melanotan II — this is a linear thirteen-residue analog, that is a cyclic lactam heptapeptide, and they differ in formula and mass.
Melanotan I (Afamelanotide), nomenclature notes One substance, two names
Melanotan I and afamelanotide: one peptide, two names
Melanotan I and afamelanotide are the same defined peptide. One name is commercial, the other the standardised substance name; they are not two different sequences.
Melanotan I (Afamelanotide), nomenclature notes
Melanotan II
Name or substance
Melanotan II vs PT-141: C-terminal amide vs free acid
A check that asks only whether a signal appears near 1024.5 is therefore satisfied by either compound…
Melanotan II, analytical notes …material sold as PT-141 is not shown to be PT-141 rather than Melanotan II by a single rounded mass, by retention time on a method never demonstrated to resolve the pair, or by a purity figure.
PT-141 (Bremelanotide), analytical notes
MOTS-c
Salt or form
Trifluoroacetate salt record vs the free peptide
PubChem CID 146675088 contains no counterion component and reports C101H152N28O22S2 for the free peptide, so a counterion-containing preparation requires a separately specified composition.
MOTS-c, analytical notes
N-Acetyl Selank Amidate
Name or substance
"N-acetyl Selank" without the amidate
A bare N-acetyl Selank label does not specify the C-terminal group and is not an alias here.
N-Acetyl Selank Amidate, nomenclature notes Registry identifier
Identifiers that belong to N-acetyl Selank free acid
PubChem CID 133082488 and UNII J3PM702O93 describe the N-acetyl Selank free acid, C35H59N11O10, and are not identifiers for this amidate.
N-Acetyl Selank Amidate, nomenclature notes
N-Acetyl Semax Amidate
Name or substance
"N-acetyl Semax" without the amidate
A bare N-acetyl Semax label does not specify the C-terminal group and is not an alias here.
N-Acetyl Semax Amidate, nomenclature notes
P021 (P21)
Notation
"AG" in Ac-DGGLAG-NH2 is one adamantane unit
…the shorthand Ac-DGGLAG-NH2 appears in the primary literature, where AG denotes a single adamantane-derived unit — NOT alanine followed by glycine. Parsed as an ordinary six-residue peptide it yields the wrong molecule, formula and mass.
P021 (P21), sequence notes
Pal-GHK (Palmitoyl Tripeptide-1)
Name or substance
"Palmitoyl oligopeptide" names more than one peptide
…'Palmitoyl oligopeptide' is not a unique identifier and should be kept only as a qualified alias; it is used for other lipidated peptides too.
Pal-GHK (Palmitoyl Tripeptide-1), nomenclature notes
PE 22-28
Name or substance
PE 22-28 is not a fragment of spexin
This entry previously described PE 22-28 as residues 22 to 28 of spexin and carried the alias Spexin (22-28). That was wrong…
PE 22-28, nomenclature notes The PE in the name denotes the sortilin PROPEPTIDE, and 22 to 28 are its residue positions within that propeptide — not within any peptide called PE.
PE 22-28, sequence notes Spexin and spadin are unrelated peptides. Mature spexin has fourteen residues, and PE 22-28 is derived from the sortilin propeptide. The former alias Spexin (22-28) incorrectly assigned that fragment to spexin.
Spexin, nomenclature notes
Pralmorelin (GHRP-2)
Name or substance
"GHRP" does not mean a GHRH-receptor ligand
And GHRP does not denote a GHRH-receptor ligand — the similar names refer to GH secretion, not a shared receptor.
Pralmorelin (GHRP-2), nomenclature notes
Pramlintide
Name or substance
Pramlintide vs human and rat amylin
Pramlintide is not another name for human amylin and not identical to rat amylin. It differs from human amylin at exactly three positions: A25P, S28P, S29P.
Pramlintide, nomenclature notes Its native amylin comparator is rat amylin, whose sequence differs from human amylin; those comparator data are not evidence for the human-amylin sequence.
Pramlintide, structural notes Salt or form
Pramlintide CAS number: peptide vs acetate salt record
The CAS recorded here is the peptide; a pramlintide acetate record describes a salt and must not replace this identity.
Pramlintide, nomenclature notes
Selank
Name or substance
Selank vs N-acetyl Selank amidate
The catalog separately lists N-acetyl selank amidate, a distinct molecule carrying an N-terminal acetyl group and a C-terminal amide.
Selank, nomenclature notes
Semax
Name or substance
Semax vs N-acetyl Semax amidate
The catalog separately lists N-acetyl semax amidate, which carries an N-terminal acetyl group and a C-terminal amide; that is a distinct molecule with a different formula, mass, and registry number, and it is not covered by this record.
Semax, nomenclature notes
Sermorelin
Name or substance
Sermorelin and tesamorelin share residues 1 to 29
Sermorelin and tesamorelin have identical residues at positions 1 to 29…
Sermorelin, analytical notes
Setmelanotide
Name or substance
Disulfide ring vs lactam ring in cyclic melanocortin peptides
This is not a head-to-tail ring and not an Asp-Lys lactam — the distinction from the Melanotan II scaffold is the point of the entry.
Setmelanotide, sequence notes
SHLP2
Name or substance
SHLPs are not humanin fragments
…'Humanin-like' describes the genomic neighbourhood, not the sequence: SHLP2 is not a humanin fragment and shares no substantial sequence with it.
SHLP2, nomenclature notes The number denotes a distinct peptide, not an activity rank and not a shortened humanin.
SHLP3, nomenclature notes It is neither a truncated humanin nor interchangeable with SHLP2 or SHLP3, and it does not behave like them…
SHLP6, nomenclature notes Name or substance
SHLP2 vs the K4R-SHLP2 variant
K4R-SHLP2 is a distinct variant arising from a mitochondrial single-nucleotide polymorphism and is not an alias for this Lys4 form.
SHLP2, nomenclature notes
Spadin
Name or substance
Spadin: seventeen or eighteen residues
This entry specifies the eighteen-residue Tyr-extended form; the unqualified name spadin and the label PE(12-28) do not resolve the seventeen-versus-eighteen-residue distinction.
Spadin, nomenclature notes
Spexin
Name or substance
NPQ: precursor or mature spexin
NPQ is a discovery-era designation that may refer to the precursor; it does not by itself identify the mature amidated peptide.
Spexin, nomenclature notes
TB-500
Name or substance
"TB-500" does not name one structure
TB-500 is a product designation whose use does not uniquely specify a molecular structure. This dossier concerns the acetylated LKKTETQ referent identified in analytical literature.
TB-500, nomenclature notes
THIQ
Name or substance
THIQ the compound vs THIQ the chemical class
The generic scaffold and this defined MC4R agonist are not the same substance, and a name-only search imports unrelated chemistry — at least one supplier listing conflates them.
THIQ, nomenclature notes Salt or form
The chlorine in THIQ's formula is not a hydrochloride
The chlorine in the formula is a covalent aryl chloride, NOT evidence of a hydrochloride salt.
THIQ, nomenclature notes
Thymosin alpha-1
Name or substance
Thymosin alpha-1 vs the beta-thymosins
The shared historical thymosin designation does not establish a common structural family with beta-thymosins.
Thymosin alpha-1, nomenclature notes
Thymosin beta-4
Name or substance
TB-500 is not thymosin beta-4
TB-500 is not this molecule. That name designates a distinct seven-residue fragment, carried separately in PubChem as CID 62707662 with a molecular mass of approximately 889 daltons, against 4963.5 daltons for the full-length peptide described here…
Thymosin beta-4, nomenclature notes